Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I hope you great people can make me feel better/give me some hope.

I just bought a 95 4x4 HB auto trans v6 king cab xe. Love the vehicle --- happy to have this truck in time for summer. Have had it for 3 days, and there's a lot to love about this vehicle. (went camping on day 2..... and feel very happy about that!)

But, the fuel gauge doesn't work. You fill it up, and it reads just a hair under 3/4 tank. I have no idea what it will read on empty at this point.

I am not a mechanic.... but do you all think I am look at a $200 to $500 repair bill?

This is the rub... I am an hourly wage earner --- I don't have 100s of dollars every few months to fix cars. But I can't afford new or even certified pre-owned.

I can't have a financial black hole of a vehicle. I just plopped down $3000 for what I thought was perfectly operating vehicle. I don't expect perfection (missind window handle on passenger side... a few dents.....mis-matching gas door handle.....a jerry-rigged way to unlock/lock the tailgate..... I can live with these things).

I feel like an idiot for buying this vehicle....... (to add insult to injury: no tire jack. But what would I need that for? There isn't a spare. Mea culpa for missing that detail. See? I am an idiot....)

Thanks for any comments about what might be the issue with the fuel gauge. I need to know what I am looking at. I still have my old vehicle and am thinking I might just sell this nissan...... at a loss that's for sure cause I will absolutely disclose what's wrong with it!

·
Registered
791 Posts