Nissan Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a Noob at forums, its my first nissan,08 Altima 2.5 s..Cadillac tranny died, I was in heaven for a week on the gas mileage factor alone..I LOVE great sound and had some freinds over and i was beginning an install of said stereo when the unthinkable happened..I could not get thru the firewall to save my life..i had dull drill bits..i went and got the ultimate 20$ drill bit and when i returned realized it was gonna downpour (in florida, that happens fast ) and had to go out back and move my recently completed subwoofer box into the back porch..then all hell broke loose..one of my less than sober freinds made it thru the firewall..unfortunately he made it thru my wiring harness also..skip forward..(that was an ugly next few hours).after the harness is replaced (by a mechanic but not nissan)..he checks the fuses and realizes that some are blown and orders them..he then tells me that the car wont start, i figure that it has to do with said blown fuses..he says he cannot communicate with the ecu..like it wont read the smart key..i dont know for sure what fuses were blown yet, im going bny in the am..but he said there were single and double fuses blown..is everything that the fuse covers listed in the fuse description?.is ther a chance that the entire security system needs reset or the smart key needs to be reprogrammed?i asked if the computer had a fuse on it somewhere and he said no..is that possible?..my mind is racing with negative possibilities.I realize how long winded this is and apologize if this is the wrong place for this post..And yes, i realize how stupid and self inflicted this damage to my car was..My girl cant seem to stop reminding me JUST how stupid this was..I have always been the type of person to do all my own work on my vehicle, and this one got away from me fast..it is defeating to say the least..i have not spoken to my freind yet..but we will be speaking very soon..y