Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been having a problem for the past year and a half when I changed my clutch out. My clutch engages really hard. I bought the clutch at autozngone, and whenever I shift into first or second you can actually feel the clutch when it engages. Its like "boom!". Isn't a clutch supposed to engage smoothly? I also changed the clutch cable and oil as well. Could it be that I purchased a piece of crap clutch? Do I need a new clutch kit? Im a college student and all I do with the car is drive it to school and back home. Its a 1.6L with 205000 miles. Otherwise the engine is still good. If I need a new clutch kit then can someone recommend me some that are relatively cheap? Also with the idling issue, whenever its cold out my car will almost never idle around its normal point which is 650rpm, it will actually hover around 900rpm. This only happens whenever its cold out, for example, yesterday was about 75-80F and the engine idled normally. Is it that the engine never really warms up to its full operating temperature although the needle says it has? Sorry for the long post, but if anyone can help it will be appreciated. :confused:

·
800+ posts
822 Posts
When you changed your clutch, did you change your pressure plate and throw-out bearing as well? It could be a bad throw-out bearing, or it could just be a bad adjustment on your clutch cable. When I first put my stage one clutch it, the adjustment took quite some time to get it right.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3