Nissan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,193 Posts
That is one CRAP welding job. I'm not a professional welder by any stretch of the imagination and even I wouldn't claim those welds.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah that's the first thing I noticed too. It also doesn't have the any holes for brackets or heatshield. It's $100 cheaper than the next up. You think it's worth it or will it do the job?

·
Sup Mod keeping the peace
6,160 Posts
I purchased an exhaust manifold for my 05 Altima. I'm wondering if it should look the way it does. Some of the openings seem like they would constrict proper flow of exhaust. I have pictures:
Yes, it sure is a piece of S**t welds and on top of that it looks like a big mismatch of port sizes. Will probably run worse then the stock manifold.

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
could always use a grinder to smooth it out, I don't know if the lack of a heat shield would cause any damage to surrounding items

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah I read that the lack of heat shield won't do any damage, it's strictly there to keep me from getting burned.

The ports all different sizes. Will this cause any sort of damage to the engine? Like pressure issues or somethin?

I'd hate to have to pay $100 more for different manifold but I also don't want $100+ worth of repairs due to this manifold.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
3,193 Posts
Just judging from the weld job, that manifold isn't going to last any length of time anyway.
That 'bluing' around the edges should be smooth and continuous, not all blocked up like it is. That tells me that the job was done in sections, heated here, not heated there. The metal has expanded and cooled at different rates. Got a strong spot over here and a weak spot over there. It's going to fail after it gets heated up and cooled down a few times. All it's going to do for you in the future is leak.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #8