Nissan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, cool forum just found it.
I have a '90 240 and I have having one heck of a time figuring out what is wrong with it. The car starts fine and runs pretty well when it is cold, after it warms up it will idle fine but when I step on the gas it will hesitate and stutter a lot. It is getting to the point where it will hardly take off and stay up to speed without the motor loading up (I think it is loading up) and slowing down. If I can get the car in the upper rpm's it is a little better but not much. If I bearly press on the gas it is sort of ok but I don't go fast enough to merge with traffic etc.

I thought that it was an ignition problem, (I am by no means a mechanic) so I have checked the timing like 3 times, replaces the plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor button, ignition coil. All that didn't work so I randomly took the intake tube off the manifold and of coarse the car died.....I put the tube close to the manifold so it could suck a little air and it ran great just sitting there so I replaced the Mass Airflow sensor....that was expensive....well that didn't work either..

I am getting really frustrated with it and need to know what else to try....also my catalytic converter isn't clogged I had it checked. Could it be my fuel pump?? I am just grasping at straws now...I have no clue what else to try.

Oh yeah it is the stock motor...

Thanks in advance,

Rok

·
Registered
446 Posts
You say it ran great when you took the tube off and put it near the intake manifold? This may sound stupid but is the air filter just that dirty? I would check that out and swap it...other than that it does sort of sound like a fuel problem.