Nissan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody. I have a 2002 SE-R spec V. I am a pretty good driver when it comes to shifting, but my car still eats gas as if it were oil. I go through almost a full tank of gas in about 1-3 days. I don't even drive full throttle. Also, the service engine light came on and the dealership said that the cap wasn't on tight enough. I have retightened and retightened but the light won't go off. It's been on for about 4 days. The dealership keeps saying the same thing. I was just wondering if anybody else had a problem like that.

and input would be greatly appreciated.

Jason

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Thank goodness it's not oil! I bought my Spec V in early December. Averaging 25-26 MPG.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I kinda thought mine was too, so i reset the trip odometer, we will see. I drive alot and i like to drive fast, so im eatting the gas for a reason though...

·
Registered
674 Posts
Your code, I'm sure, is for "evap small leak". That means that the fuel system is not holding vacuum, so they tell you to make sure the gas cap is tight. All the newer Nissans are real sensitive to this. Make sure that when you put your gas cap on that you tighten it till it clicks. I have also seen cars come into the shop that have this problem from people who top off their gas. What happens is that gas goes into the vent tube. One of the tests that the tech is supposed to do is a vacuum test to see if the system holds vacuum or if there is a leak somewhere. That could be why your getting bad gas mileage too. But make sure that your gas cap is turned till it starts clicking.

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Plastic gas caps