Nissan Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some advice from you drag pro's out there. I've got an 02 Spec V, and I'm having a really hard time on take off. I've read alot on launching, but the standard advice has me spinning till redline in first and second gear. I've even taken my tire pressure down to as low as 20. I was at the drag strip last night and my best short time was 2.81, which is pretty horrible. I also wasn't able to break a 16 in the 1/4.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm not a pro or anything, but don't release the clutch all the way and give it more gas.....if your tires are spinning on the get go, you won't go anywhere faster. On stock tires designed for normal day use, spinning them won't do any good. If you had slicks, then spinning them would actually do something good. You just have to play around. Don't try the same thing twice if it didn't work the first time.

·
Registered
172 Posts
practice your launch rpm with the dump method. hold the R's around 13 to 1500 and dump (not side stepping) the clutch and floor the gas. what you want is for the tires (street) to spin just slightly this way you are extracting the maximun grip from the tires (use of the term hooking up) hold first till just under redline (where the qr25de develops its max hp) speed shift hold second till 6K etc. it takes some finess to get it down right. too low rpm the engine bogs too high and you make smoke clouds.

also try to avoid spinning at gear changes this also causes your e.t.'s to increase.

dropping the tire pressure on standard steel belted tires actually hurts you a little since when you underinflate tires of this type what happens is the outer edges make most of the contact with the road. the center bows inward (towards the rim) try 28 psi

·
Registered
299 Posts