Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, I know the DET has a turbo and the DE does not but what else sets these two engines apart? Are they basically the same engine with a turbo added? Would a SR20DET blacktop run OK with the turbo removed?

·
Registered
33 Posts
there is probably like 1000 threads on this already... i dont know, im a newb too but im sure u can search and find a PLETHORA of info on this.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Baby_Jesus said:
there is probably like 1000 threads on this already... i dont know, im a newb too but im sure u can search and find a PLETHORA of info on this.
I searched and came up with a few things. I still don't know:
Are they the same exact block?
Same internals?
Same HP if turbo is removed from DET?
Thanks

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
OldBrit said:
Yes, I know the DET has a turbo and the DE does not but what else sets these two engines apart? Are they basically the same engine with a turbo added? Would a SR20DET blacktop run OK with the turbo removed?
The diffences are:

Pistons (DE 9.5:1 - DET 8.5:1)
Valves (DE Normal - DET Sodium-Filled)
Lubrication system (DET has piston oil squirters)
DET - block is drilled for turbo oil return and some have oil cooler fittings
Dimensionally the blocks are the same
DET does not have the US emissions parts

Lew

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
lshadoff said:
The diffences are:

Pistons (DE 9.5:1 - DET 8.5:1)
Valves (DE Normal - DET Sodium-Filled)
Lubrication system (DET has piston oil squirters)
DET - block is drilled for turbo oil return and some have oil cooler fittings
Dimensionally the blocks are the same
DET does not have the US emissions parts

Lew
Thanks Lew

·
Registered
1 Posts
sr20 vs sr20det