Nissan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am a newbie so don't flame with CHECK THE FAQ!!

anwhoo.... 92 SE-R bought used last month.. the rear suspension creaks when i drive..i.e. when weight tranfers, front 2 back, side 2 side and when i get in and out of the car.

i can push on it sideways next to the gas cap and here it creak a little...

is this time to re-bush or new shocks/springs?

also have some chatter bumping from front passenger side at low speeds on uneven pavement and when car is cold and pulling out of driveway in a.m.

can you guys help a newbie out???

:(

:(

·
1.6 Turbo Power
718 Posts
i have that problem too, but not only when its cold and mine is near the front driver side. check the B14 section to find out more. some said it was the jounce bumpers.

·
Registered
154 Posts
The creak you are talking about is probable the gasket between the strut and car. Nissan calls it the thrust seat part # 54329-50Y00. When I put agx's on, I didn't replace this gasket, it creaked like crazy, a month later I replaced it and haven't had any problems since.
I don't know about the chatter, It could be a wheel bearing or a cv joint.

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Jounce Bumpers

'Jounce' bumpers are the rubber pieces that prevent the shock/strut from bottoming out. I'm used to hearing them call bump stops. Regardless of the term, it the little rubber bushing-type piece that slides down the strut rod to cushion excessive downward movement.

On my B14, the bumper & the boot come as one piece. I had to cut about 20mm out of the bumper when I lowered it, so now mine are 2 separate pieces.

Hope this helps...

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
that makes sense about the seals... how do i go about fixing this? how hard is it to fix and should i just wait until i DO get my KYBs (about 1 year away)

brian

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
BigB said: