Nissan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty much settled on purchasing a 2002 SE Maxima with all kinds of nice stuff;) I've done my research, and I believe this is the car for me.

One alarming problem I have heard about in Maximas with the 3.0 engines and larger have this problem during a cold start. From my understanding, the timing chain rubs against some metal part producing a clanking sound before oil is delivered to that part of the engine. I am not that technical when it comes to engines, and I am trying my best to describe this problem as well as I can. Nissan has apparently acknowledged the problem ( I believe), but hasn't admitted it's damaging to the engine, and therefore there is no recall on these engines.

Anybody heard of this? I am really having a hard time figuring out the truth of this. Or lack thereof.

Thanks.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
my engine does that noise, when she's cold. Its been doing that noise since maybe 140k..im @ 166k now...i dont think its a big issue.

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cold Start Clatter / Clinking

The only incident that we have experienced is on a 2002 Maxima.

The noise is only after 48 hours of sitting without any starts.

We spoke to nissan and they have determine it is bleed down in the timing chain tensioners.

The noise is for only 5 seconds are less. It is determined this will cause no damage and nissan has suggested that we try a synthetic oil change.

We have only seen that 1 case.

I hope this is a help to you.

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4