Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Im the proud owner of a $300 89 nissan sentra. I got it a few months ago. After a few problems getting an inspection sticker on it due to the rust in the frame, I am finding that it will also need a new clutch.

Is it a very easy task to install a clutch in one of these vehicles? I have never done this kind of work before. Most of my auto repairs have been minor, I have replaced altenators, radiator's, hoses, belts, and brakes, but never anything major like dropping a tranny.

A clutch kit at advance cost about $100, Im trying to decide if its worth it to install on an old $300 car with 10 months left on its sticker. 166k miles, good engine, uses a little oil, about 2 quarts per 3,000 miles. No knocking or ticking though. I also do a lot of city driving. I have looked it over and it seems pretty easy to drop the trans, just loosen the bolts all around where it meets the engine. I should also add that this seems to be a stripped model, no AC, no power steering or anything like that. I thought it had a hydrolic clutch, but it seems to be cable.

I also plan to buy a haynes book with this clutch if I decide to do this for quick refrence.

-AC

·
B12 Enthusiast
844 Posts
personally I think these cars are pretty easy to change the clutch in. whether or not it is worth it, depends on what you plan to do with the car and how long you are going to keep it. If you are going to replace the clutch, I would suggest getting the flywheel cut and replacing the rear main oil seal on the motor while your in there. will ensure no leaks and a nice smooth operating clutch.

sounds like you are losing a lot of oil. while you are under there, you may want to check and see if your front oil seal isn't leaking ? it is a cheap fix, doesn't take a lot of time, and tends to be a common problem with these cars.

Definitely get the manual too.

Good Luck. :cheers:

·
Registered
41 Posts
FWIW: