Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts
R

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a b12 sentra 5 spd, and I would to swap my cluster for one with rpm, A few weeks ago took apart my dash and cluster area to change one of the bulbs behind the speedometer so I know that part of the process is fairly easy to do, what I was wondering is: will it just be a matter of unplugging the old cluster and plugging the new on or there is something else to do...

also what kinda cluster should I look for, for an easy installation ?

sentra [email protected]
pulsar [email protected]?
...

as anybody tried this before ?
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Tach is in!

Mail me at the house and I will walk you through it, I just typed a complete message here and I lost it because of MSN random disconnect feature. -Greg [email protected] if you are serious about it. To answer your question though the only cluster you can use is a 1987-90 Nissan Sentra SE or GXE NOT a Pulsar it will fit.:mad:
 
R

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
in or not

I don't really care if its in or not. my previous car was an accord 87 EX-i with a tach, and I got kinda use to having this kind of accessorie. its a good thing to have when you decide to shift a little more agressively :p. I'm always affraid to push my little sentra too far and maybe mess here up. thats why I would like to have a tach :)

BTW, You'll have to excuse my english, its not my mother tongue
 

·
Nissan/Mazda Gumshoe
Joined
·
1,052 Posts
hey rugby, have u ever had issues with ur gas and temp gauges, mine dont work half the time, and since you ve taken ur cluster apart i wonder if u have any suggestions for me
 
M

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
where are the redlines for the ga16i, im goin to go ghetto
 

·
Sentra Specialist
Joined
·
1,902 Posts
I have swapped the regular non-tach cluster in my '89 B12 Sentra XE for a tach cluster from a B12 GXE. Unlike some cars, it is not easy to swap a factory tach cluster into a B12 Sentra. Yes it will bolt right in, but the wiring is the problem. The reason is because the cluster with the tach, has the fuel and temp gauges relocated, so the printed circuits and harnesses are completely different. You have to replace the dash cluster harness too, because the order of the wires in the harness connectors is totally different. I made sure to get the matching dash cluster harness with my tach cluster, from the car I removed it all from. The harness goes down to the SMJ [super multiple junction] connector [near the fuse box], and has to be separated with a 10mm wrench. It is alot of work, but it is the only right way to do it. Good luck
 

·
Sentra Specialist
Joined
·
1,902 Posts
AVERAGE wrote: "hey rugby, have u ever had issues with ur gas and temp gauges, mine dont work half the time, and since you ve taken ur cluster apart i wonder if u have any suggestions for me?"

*****This is an easy one: You need to replace the dash voltage regulator. It is mounted on the backside of the dash cluster, and has three wires coming out of it, black, yellow, and blue. Change it, and your fuel and temp gauges are fixed.
__________________
 

·
Sentra Specialist
Joined
·
1,902 Posts
Hello Boost-boy, Are you serious about 170 mph? If so, what final drive ratio are you using and what size tires? With the stock 4.17 to 1 ratio my SE-R has, I'd have to turn the engine about 11,000 rpm's to get to 170! Will you fill us in? Thanks
 

·
CA18DET Wizard
Joined
·
1,366 Posts
Ahh, i've been waiting on someone to question me in that department! Gearing ratios are not an area where I cared to venture in as my gearboxes have faired very well in supporting my highway battles. Back in 2000 when I was clocked by a state trooper @ 173mph in a 55mph zone I was in my own B12 sedan with 14in Pulsar wheels with 185/60 tires. I had the Pulsar's gearbox and before I saw the blue lights, I recall the RPM needle being around the 7700ish range. Engine temperature at 175 degrees farenheit at 12-15ish psi of boost from T3/T04 60-1 turbo. As explained to the rest of the forum I did not go to jail nor did I get a ticket mainly because I think the guy was amazed that my P>O<S sentra tripped his radar at that rate of speed and the fact that I wasn't racing anyone, but merely tuning at 0130 in the A.M. I have a friend with an SR20DET in his 200sx running 14psi and after 140mph he's a thing of the past. Same Case, different friend with an S2000 whereas he struggled to get his car to 155mph and I left him standing still. Other guys on the boards can testify after seeing the videos that my car can and will exceed the limit of the speedometer which is 125mph. Here's a little something to think about @5300rpm I'm already going 125mph and my rev limiter is set at 8500rpm and the engine has been known for wanting to go that far. I've had plenty of guys w/ Supras, Corvette's and RX-7's chase me at those rate of speeds and find it to be pretty hard to close the gap. So as far as gear ratios go, I'll be lying to you if I told you I knew them, but I assure you my girlfriend's B12 see that speed on a regular basis and my own B12 will smack hers up. The difference between my girl's gearbox and my old one is, hers is a Jap spec which seem to hav a more relaxed final drive whereas the pulsar's tranny is geared more for drag. My new tranny is neither pulsar nor jap spec bluebird, but that of a 1992 nissan maxima SE with helical LSD which is mated to the pulsar's bellhousing. If interested, I'll keep you posted on how my new car w/built engine and tranny goes and trust me I spared no expense this time around. And BTW her engine is stock except for the stand-alone fuel management and the 550cc injectors.
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Tachometer install

How the heck do you post a picture on this anyway? Oh, sorry, guys and (Blown 310) you do not have to exert all of this to install a O.E. tachometer cluster into a B12. It is childs play and I made a Microsoft Word document with all of what you need to do this. I have some super pictures too! I even found a guy that said YES he will make me a front upper strut tower brace for a 1987 carbureted Nissan Sentra with A/C 5 speed for $200.00 SWEEEEEEEEETT!!!!!! :( Hey Sentra Stud we will benifit from this!!!!! Hit me at the crib bro for this one. . . -Greg
 

·
Nissan/Mazda Gumshoe
Joined
·
1,052 Posts
yo, 87! now u know once u get the strut bar youll have to past pictures and let everyone else know how they can get one . and also will the sc cluster just plug into and bolt up into the b12
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Cluster Buster's!

Average blown 310 is right about swapping the harness plugs NO it will NOT just plug in. Like all or most mods worth having you will have to do some custom work of your own there to make it happen. I will not get into detail here on the site. I will tell you it is a 3 hour job if you have no clue what you are doing. I made a COMPLETE write up on how to do this and I have pictures with a working tach to back me up. If you are serious mail me at gcon[email protected] I will mail you or all of you what you need to make it happen. Sentra Stud can verify this too! I will offer my support to help you do this and a host of gorgeous pictures to boot.
 

·
CA18DET Wizard
Joined
·
1,366 Posts
That's a cool thing to do man:cool: You give some technical help and you get some technical help (no secrets). Because if anybody felt their setups are so secretive, then you probably shouldn't be posting here. What do you guys think?:rolleyes:
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Tachometer install & S.T.B.!

Average & Boost Boy! First I will answer Average. . . Yes the tach cluster will bolt into the instrument cluster bezel cavity, BUT it will not just "Plug-In". There is a little work involved to make it happen. The file I will mail to those who mail me at home covers all the information you need to install this. As for strut tower brace he said $200.00 so I am with it. For some odd reason I cannot post pictures, I do not know why? I will not persue the issue either as to why I cannot and others can, I have some quite interesting pictures of a B12 if I may add and this is a understatment! This cluster swap file is very long and would not be welcomed by the site's moderators due to it's overwhealming size. I strongly suggest that you mail me at the crib if any of you are interested in this. By mailing me I will of course have your address and will mail you pictures of this gorgeous 87 Sentra, but when this company does make my brace, being that you will be in my address book, you will get the picture and the info and the price of any and everything I do and get! Talk about INSTANT UPDATER feature, you got it! BOOST BOY, YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!! Yo I am sorry for this bothersome headache of mailing me, but it is the only way you guys can hit pay day. One guy from this site mailed me so far (I will not mention names w/o permission) and he is quite pleased with what he has seen as well as the file. There is no use in showing off your goods if you are not willing to provide others with your secrets of success! I had done this back in 1992 so it was NO BIG DEAL back then. Now I see it is some BIG MESS to have a 2-door B12 that is not a hatchback with a tachometer in it! So I want to help all of those that want it as BAD as I did then. Forget the chumps that do not want to share the goods, we will not patronize them! -Greg [email protected]
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Picture Party!

Dude those pictures are AWSOME, BUTTTTTTTTT I would recommend saving them in your CD burner because only like two will fit on a 3.5 floppy. They are well worth the time too see ecspecially if you are a REAL B12 FANATIC, like me. I just hope you guys can and will be willing to help me when I need you guys. Guys you gotta get these pictures. Your imagination will roll with all kinds of ideas DUDE'z I will answer all questions for you. So far three dudes got the program & pictures and man, I hope they like 'um! -Greg [email protected] LET'S ROCK!!!!!!! :eek:
 

·
Nissan/Mazda Gumshoe
Joined
·
1,052 Posts
yo rugby . where can i get the dash voltage regulator from. will i be able to find it at say autozone or your local autoparts store or will i have to go to the f#*@ a$$ dealership and get it. i havent had much luck with the locals as far as some "run of the mill" parts. would love some suggestions on were to find this. thanks
 

·
King of Porn
Joined
·
257 Posts
Voltage Level Readout Gauge.

I know this question was not directed towards me, Iupon reading your inquiry I was struck by an idea! If you are typing about a voltage level readout gauge, not a voltage regulator, I will render you my idea. I think the 1984-89 nissan 300 ZX or ZX Turbo has that type of gauge. If it is not integrated into the cluster you can perform this surgical task of grafting it to a 1987-90 Nissan Sentra. First extracate the gauge from the donor vehicle, next obtain these parts from a 1987-90 Nissan Sentra SE model: The outter black trim finisher directly in front of the shift boot the one with the opening for the tape deck ONLY not the standard closed one, next unplug and remove the radio, next get both of the tape decks side mounting brackets from out of there too, next gut out the tape decks innards and use it as a shell to house you gauge OR fabricate a new shell around the size of the tape deck so it will fit in the O.E. location select a face plate finisher measure it up and BAM! Youre in the mix once you wire it all up. -Greg:mad:
 

·
Nissan/Mazda Gumshoe
Joined
·
1,052 Posts
for the cluster , 87

yo 87. the info i need is on dash voltage regulator which according to rugby will fix my no gas guage , no temp guage problem. to put it plainly, he told me that if i replaced this part that my gas and temp guages would work again. if anyone read my previous post , where can i find this part so i dont have to fill up my car every three days . any info is helpful
 
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
Top