Nissan Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
ex-Super *********
1,410 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
CAI vs. POP WAI for power. Do CAIs suck in a bad way?

So I was reading the SR20DEforum today and found this discussion:
http://www.sr20deforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=26568

After reading that morepower2 has some trouble due to airflow-over-filter problems on his Z, It got me thinking.
http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7274

All the dyno numbers we see for new parts come from a stationary dyno. The dyno does not produce the same air flow as normal driving conditions, even with fans its not the same.

What if by some chance the airflow over a CAI filter mounted vertical does infact cause problems. Ever blow across the top a straw in a drink? You know it pulls the drink up the straw. Well could the air flow perpendicular to the CAI intake tube cause air to be drawn out just a tad, or at least cause some disruption?
Now I am by no means an engineer and I would imagine that this issue was thought of when engineers designed CAIs, but what would explain the SR20DEforum members feeling that POP WAIs make more power and better times(1/4mi) than CAIs? Now I understand that their(SR20deforum) testing wasnt even close to being consitant and accruate. I just want some thoughts on this.

p.s. Before the search nazis nail me because there is already a thread here in NA with some of this content( http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7209 ) I thought I would make a new topic. Those that want to discuss this may not hit that thread due to its title. I also feel this is a seperate and unique topic vs. that one.

·
Registered
638 Posts