Nissan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings-

1996 ALTIMA GXE

I was told by a local mechanic that the PASSANGER'S side C.V. Joint is going. I noticed that if I turn left I hear a clicking noise, and from my understanding this a sign of a bad CV joint. Now my question is how do you know which side is bad does turning the steering wheel sharp either right or left tell you which CV joint is bad? I think it might be the right / passanger's side. I have never done this before, how difficult is it to do and is there any surprises I should know about first hand?

Regards

·
Registered
15 Posts
I replaced the passenger axle on my '94 last winter it was fairly easy to do. Just follow the stepos in the manual, just be careful not to rip the boot on the tierod end, a pickle fork will help to get it off easier.

·
Biru O' Kudasai
1,426 Posts
If you turn the wheel while it is parked then look on the inside of the wheel you will see which side has the bad CV boot because of the grease is flung out as well as the torn boot being visible. Depending on how long it has been open it may require a rebuilt axle if it hasn't been that long the existing axle can be rebooted and thus rebuilt.

Troy

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
KA24Tech said:
If you turn the wheel while it is parked then look on the inside of the wheel you will see which side has the bad CV boot because of the grease is flung out as well as the torn boot being visible. Depending on how long it has been open it may require a rebuilt axle if it hasn't been that long the existing axle can be rebooted and thus rebuilt.

Troy

Hey Troy-