Nissan Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m currently looking to purchase a 3rd gen Pathfinder. What are the best years for gen 3s and what years should I avoid? Are there any common issues that occur at a particular mileage? I‘ll be towing a 4,000 lbs. center console fishing boat, I would prefer a 4x4 and I’m interested in the V8 engine option, (available in the 2008+ Pathfinders) I know the V6 can tow up to 6,000. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you,

·
NF Mod/Nissan Master Tech
2006 Pathfinder LE, 2003 Frontier SVE
10,036 Posts
I'm a admin at TheNissanPath.com and own a 2006 LE AWD and a 2008 SE 4x4 V6, personally. The third gen was 2005 thru 2012 as you already know. The VQ40DE is a strong motor and the RE5R05A is a very good transmission and can easily handle a 6,000 lb trailer. The V8 is even stronger, but they can be hard to find as they are not nearly as common as the V6. Another advantage of the V8 is that the front brakes are 1" larger (but you can upgrade the V6 brakes to the V8 by simply replacing the front rotors, calipers w/ mounting brackets and pads for a V8 R51). All trims except the LE have the standard transfer case; the LE comes with an AUTO mode transfer case, which is similar to GM's Smart Trak II system that employs a wet clutch to deliver power to the front axle when needed. LE's will also be loaded with leather seats, faux wood grain trim and Bose audio. The Off-road trim comes with taller tires, different shocks, Hill Assist and Hill Decent Control.
Best years, IMO, are 2011 and 2012, as these finally got the "bugs" worked out of them for the most part. Several problems are well known on the 2005-2010 models. There were two big issues that "could" occur: the upper timing chains eating through the plastic tensioner faces and radiator integral trans coolers that could leak at a seal and cause cross-contamination of the engine coolant and automatic transmission fluid.