Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new poster, but I have searched around quite a bit before registering and posting.

The story:

A friend of mine mentions to me that he has a 1995 Nissan 200SX sitting in his driveway, doing nothing since he bought a new car. He was going to literally scrap this car...have it towed and sold for scrap. I am totally new to Nissan, so I would like to ask the experts here about this car, and if I should buy it from my friend for $350. I need a general use vehicle to give my other cars a rest from time to time, and this may be what I am after.

It is a 5 Speed with the 1.6 L GA16DE engine, 110,000 miles, and generally not taken care of. Cosmetically, it needs a little work. The parts I would need off the bat are:

Front grill, Driver-side Mirror, Passenger front seat belt, the heater switch resistor (only setting 4 works..found that here too), front right corner assembly for the driving light and t-signal, and the muffler is disconnected from the pipe that runs to the front of the car...and I don't know if that is easy to repair on this car or not.

I have found most of these parts for quite cheap..so I don't mind the minor cost there. Also, parts store links are welcome.

He would go 25,000-30,000 miles at some points without an oil change, which is extremely stupid, but the situation is what it is. The car sat for 6 months, through a Michigan winter and started on the first turn, so it seems strong to some degree. I couldn't drive it yet, but from just starting it and moving through the gears, the clutch felt tight and the gears didn't clunk or grind in any way...so I think the clutch and tranny are OK.