Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
do u brake by putting the gear into neutral and then pressing on the brake pad? or do u downshift and press the brake pad at the same time? which one is a better way to brake?

J

·
0 Posts
Depends on how I'm slowing down. In normal day to day, not-in-a-hurry driving I just push in the clutch and the brake as I get close to the light or stop.

·
Registered
51 Posts
WHEN U HAVE TO SLOW DOWN FAST U SHOULD DOWN SHIFT TO HELP YOU SLOW DOWN. BUT ITS NOT GOOD TO DO THAT ALL OF THE TIME. BUT IF IM JUST CRUISING, THEN I JUST BRAKE UNTIL I GET CLOSE TO THE LIGHT THAN I PUSH THE CLUTCH DOWN.

J

·
0 Posts
When u have to slow down fast u should down shift to help you slow down. but its not good to do that all of the time.
Huh? I've been driving sticks for 14 years and I always downshift. Of course you don't want to slam the gear and pop the clutch out, you just need to match the revs. People will claim it wears the clutch out, but in all my cars I've never replaced a clutch before 160k miles.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanx for the replies

ok but...bottom line...wat's the "proper" way of braking with a manual? cuz i wanna do wat's best for my car. thanx in advance

·
Aaaayh!
439 Posts
downshifting wont hurt anything if it is done right. Like JoeFrat said just match revs. When i got rid of my 93 sentra it had 140k miles with original clutch. And there was nothing wrong with it when i got rid of it. It was just s....l......o......w......

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
o wow

thanx everybody...i think i'll try and learn to match the revs so i'll just downshift when i brake...

·
Aaaayh!
439 Posts
If you have a Maxima GXE why are you worried about downshifting, its an automatic.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Downshifting while braking (heel and toe) is only usefull to get you in the right gear to take off, it has absolutely nothing to do with braking.