Nissan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a noisy flowmaster muffler now. I hate it. At about 2500 rpm it just gets loud.
After I bought it and removed the resonator; my mileage dropped and so did the power.

What is a good quiet muffler? I would like a round chrome one but it must be quieter and give me good mileage.

I have 2 1/4" pipes from the exhaust manifold to cat and from there to the muffler.

·
Registered
125 Posts
You could get the $600.00 Apexi GT Spec catback exhaust system. The piping is 95mm (3.74 inches) so the sound is really low. It sounds pretty nasty when you take it to the redline though. The exhaust was put on the car before I bought it, and it's definately not needed. It's probably good for like 800hp. I might have 200 at the wheels now.

·
Registered
166 Posts
are you plannign on going turbo or satying N/A?

if your going turbo there are tons of great cat backs that sound nice

here are a few of my favs right now

RS*R ExMag recomoned for turbo apps, 80mm piping
Blitz Realize TT 3" piping
5 zigen Border III this one is 70mm and its good for N/A motors as well

these three are all quit and low sounding exhusts

·
Registered
405 Posts
I would say get a resonator, then i would recomend a borla muffler. Also i would recoment a cat. if you need one in your state or 2 resonators like a friend of mine did.

·
Banned
1,899 Posts
For turbo, get a 3". For NA get 2.5" and make sure that it is full stainless steel. The rest is all up to you based on looks and sound.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Resonator?

I am not going to add a turbo. I like the way Borla looks. Is it quiet below 4,000 rpm?
Would a resonator lower my mileage or horsepower?

kaptainkrollio said:
For turbo, get a 3". For NA get 2.5" and make sure that it is full stainless steel. The rest is all up to you based on looks and sound.

·
Registered
405 Posts