Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Platinum
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does your car understeer a lot when you autoX? Mine does. I have a problem steering a bit too much, so it's part of my problem, but my car understeers more than others for sure. I had B+G springs with KYB AGXs. That's the set up I had last week. I swapped rear springs to Eibach (stiffer) for today's event (so i had B+G front, Eibach rear) because My car had super heavy understeer and rear didn't rotate at all. and I still got pretty heavy understeer. I think my car needs a rear sway bar....
Are you guys having same problems? Currently, i'm running the STS class and I can't beat anybody. (maybe a few riced out Civics with newbie driver) I've been doing this for 3 years, but it's not getting any better... Is it my car? or my driving?
I always thought it was my driving, but now i think my car needs some help. What do you think??

Thanx ;)

·
Driver
736 Posts
I have a stock suspension in mines, so I don't know how it is with stiffer springs/better shocks. Anyways, since I have an automatic, I've found that by left-foot braking I can reduce understeer by inducing rotation(at the last event I was actually getting the rear to step out on a certain right hander:D). I do have to say the car isn't so good in STS, as I've usually been placing second or third to last in class standings. I know it's not the chassis or suspension because there's a 200sx with an sr20 and ground controls that's consistently 6-10 seconds quicker than me. Than again, I started autocrossing 4 months ago while that guy's been doing it for more than a year.
Have you played with tire pressures? I've found 41f/29r to be pretty good at getting the car to rotate.

·
Registered
44 Posts
What tires do you have on the front of the car? If you have crap tires (Nitto 450s, for example), your car will be a push-mobile no matter what you do to it.