Nissan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie but I have been reading the forums for a bit and have searched this topic. I have a 93 sentra auto. When I accelerate very slowly my tranny has a tendency to "jerk" or "buck" when going from 1 to 2 almost as if it is hunting for a gear. I only notice this when going slowly in a parking lot or in heavy stop and go traffic. Under normal accleration it shifts smoothly and at full throttle it barks the tires :D (is that good or bad?) The slower I go the higher the chance of jerking during 1-2 shifts. Any ideas? thanks, any answers appreciated. p.s. I change fluid regularly.

·
Registered
393 Posts
you might need new motor/tranny mounts. have a trusting friend sit in the driver seat w/ the car running. have him hold the brake pedal down (ebrake too, just to be safe) put it in drive and lightly rev the engine. just enough so that you should see the engine "torque" or move back and forth. if it seems like its a lot of movement, or its jerking around way too much, thats most likely it. do it in reverse too

·
freakish poster
1,236 Posts
Mine has done that from day one, if I understand what you're saying (maybe not). If I crawl (no gas pedal action) and it shifts into 2nd it sort of jolts into gear. The 1-2 shift isn't sliky smooth as it is even under normal accel.

·
Ive got a pickle 4 an arm
340 Posts
i noticed the same action, during a certain speed and rate of acceleration, it doesn't shift smoothly. other then that certain combination it shifts fine. and i would be so lucky to be able to spin my tires period! the only way i can do that is to power brake it. or take off in sand. and its not like i'm running stickies for tires either. just cheap all seasons.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yep