Nissan Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm thinking about putting a nice sound system in my car. The plan is to put in two 15" Rockford Fosgate Punch subs (getting them from a cousin for $200). They are 4 ohms 200W RMS, 400W Peak. I would like to have two amps. One for the subs and one for the other speakers. I'm thinking about going Rockford down that road as well. I'm no expert at sound so I'm just gonna take a stab at it. I'm going to need a 400W RMS, 800W Peak amp. (Any suggestions on the sound sys are welcome) Since I am going to be pushing so much power, I am worried I am going to fry my alternator. Is there anything I can do in the way upgrading it? I'm sure I will, b/c when I hooked up those damned nozzle lights, they fried the alternator. I've since disconnected them b/c not only did they screw up my car, I dont want any rice on the car anymore... (only reason they are still connected to the washer system is b/c i like the way they spray).

Obivously I have the GA16DE as I'm posting in this forum.

i've also been having a problem with the car since the day I got it. Everyonce in a while, all the gauges, radio, and a/c lights will go out. Now they come on once I flick the brightness switch. Has anyone else had this problem? How do I fix this. It's really beginning to piss me off... TIA!

·
Registered
500 Posts
My guages do that every once in a blue moon on my 99. The whole dash lighting system will just go out and I just barely touch the dimmer swich on the left side of the dash and they come back on. It's weird. I don't know why it does that.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is there somewhere I might look for more information? i'm trying not to take it somewhere to have it hooked up. I know a guy who used to install stereo systems who said he'd help me install everything once I have all the parts. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Hi,