Nissan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always read about upgrading the se-r's brakes to the 4-piston calipers and master cylinder from a 300z, but here at nissan forums, i read a lot about is the AD22Vf upgrade... can anyone make a comparison between the two? I'm also wondering if the AD22Vf upgrade requires replacement of the master cylinder as does the 300z, or not.

peace, love, and grease

·
Now a spec V guy
112 Posts
im no expert, but 300tt brakes wont work, because its a 5 lug and b14's are 4 lug . the ad22vf are larger than stock, i believe npm had an article on them compared to stock. i sold a set, now i need a new set.

Brian

·
Registered
115 Posts
Basically the 300zx brakes would require more work... (how much, I'm not sure. At the very least they'd require you redrill the rotors to 4 lug (4x100). I'm not sure how you'd get the calipers mounted or brake lines installed. I'm sure it can be done, I just don't personally know anyone who's done it. It probably would involve taking some parts from the G20... but I could be wrong.

The AD22VF upgrade is easy... it's a pure bolt on replacement setup. You don't need to replace the master cylinder or the brake lines. Just get yourself the new rotors/calipers/pads/and mounting brackets and your set. You'll have to trim or remove the brake dust shield and make sure you run 15in wheels (stock 200SX SE-R wheels are fine). That's it. The difference between the AD22VF upgrade and the old stockers isn't so much in their size... but in their width. The AD22's have a lot more thermal mass to absorb heat and prevent fade under extreem conditions. They also have a larger piston in the caliper to provide more even distribution of force on the brake pad.

Hope that helps...

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanx Yosho, that answered my q. if i come across any of those references to the 300z swap, ill have to see if they sounded like they knew what they were saying