Nissan Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everybody,

I'm a newbie here. I know nothing about car and even don't know how to drive.

However I bought an Altima 98 SE yesterday and hope i can drive it for at least 1 year. It has a huge mileage, 138.3k miles; and there are two long cracks on the windshield.

But my friend who is a good engineer said it has a great engine and drives quietly and smoothly. And i like its shining exterior.

My question is what kind of maintenance i should do to ensure safety? Is the car using timing chain? Will the engine break suddenly on the road? Do I have to do major replacements or fixes on this old but lovely car?

Thanks.

·
Biru O' Kudasai
1,426 Posts
Really all you should need to do is do a good tune up. I would replace all the filters (air, fuel, and oil), change the cap, rotor and spark plugs, as well as changing the fluids (coolant, trans, brake, and oil), which I would probably use a synthetic or synthetic blend for the oil. The KA24DE which the Altima has is a chain driven timing gear so it won't snap like a belt. I would agree with your friend that it is a very good reliable engine.

Troy

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you very much

KA24Tech said:
Really all you should need to do is do a good tune up. I would replace all the filters (air, fuel, and oil), change the cap, rotor and spark plugs, as well as changing the fluids (coolant, trans, brake, and oil), which I would probably use a synthetic or synthetic blend for the oil. The KA24DE which the Altima has is a chain driven timing gear so it won't snap like a belt. I would agree with your friend that it is a very good reliable engine.

Troy
Thanks, it's been so nice of you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Marius said:
how much you spend on the car, if you dont mind me asking.