Nissan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone. This is my first time posting here. It seems as if this is a very informative website with a helpful community. Please bear with me during this fairly long post. :crazy:

1996 Nissan Maxima - mileage 136,000 -

The problem I'm having is: Several weeks ago, I started to notice a leak somewhere around under the coolant container. I fill it constantly and it tends to leak out the more I drive and is almost empty by the end of the day.
I haven't been able to get it checked out due to current money issues. Well, it started to run hot on occassion after that; mostly while I was accelerating and would cool down at a stop or red light........

The other day it overheated and started smoking (a little) & wouldn't start. After jumping it off with jumper cables...it started. This happened a couple of times afterwards. We bought & replaced it with a brand new battery 2 days ago (needed a new one anyway) and my husband drove it to work the next day and said he had no problem with it at all...didn't even run hot. Well, that same day, I drove it to pick up the kids and about half a mile down the road, it started to rattle. And then it started to rise to the HOT level. The further I got down the road, the louder the rattle became. When I came to a red light...it would rattle and die! It would barely start back up and at other red lights, I would put it in Neutral (it is an automatic) and press gas to keep from dying. When I got to the school, it died COMPLETELY. Would not start. Stranded. I could smell something hot & burning...i noticed just a small amount of smoke coming from back left under the hood. Almost like rubber burning. After 10 minutes, the car started again...barely. So I drove home with the same routine (in neutral at stops) it would die. I would stop and wait ..then it would start again. This happened 3 times.