Nissan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, i'm new to this, so please bare with me. Recently I purchased a 1993 Nissan Altima GXE, and it has been running fantastic. Since I bought it though, i've noticed that about 75% of the time, my defrost is the only thing that blows any air. Any other setting I change it too (floor, head, both), it still blows through the defrost. Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Biru O' Kudasai
1,426 Posts
It sounds like it is a problem with the mode door motor. The mode door motor is in the center of the dash and can be be seen on the drivers side of the center console in the heater box toward the front of the vehicle.
First you will need to pull the heater A/C control panel in the dash.
Next push the Vent button on the control panel and turn the ignition switch to the on position and then turn it off again.
Then check to ensure that continuity exists between both terminals 1 (Blue/Orange) or 2 (Blue/Yellow) and body ground.
Procede to the next mode, push the Bi-Level button and turn on the ignition switch and then off again. Test the continuity between both 2 (Blue/Yellow) or 3 (Blue/Red) and body ground.
Repeat the procedure for the Foot switch position with both 3 (Blue/Red) or 4 (Blue/White) and body ground.
Again with the Foot/Defrost switch position and both 4 (Blue/White) or 5 (Blue/Black) and body ground.
Finally pushing the Defrost switch position and testing the continuity for both 5 (Blue/Black) or 6 (Blue) and body ground.

If it tests good, then check the control linkage and pull the mode door motor out to check its operation.
Switch between the different panel modes and the motor should move smoothly.
If it does NOT operate correctly skip to the next procedure.
Check the linkage movement and hold it in Defrost mode (where the door deflects all the air up).
Then reinstall the mode door motor and reconnect the harness (if it was disconnected).