Nissan Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

Im new here and also Im new to cars. I bought my first car and I dont know anything about cars.

I drive my 92 Nissan Sentra XE (automatic) in the city only. I load from the cheapest gas, not sure if its the optimal for my brand but have not noticed difference in mileage when I load with the medium, for example. Lately, I have noticed a MPG drop. Currently, I have 20 mpg. Few months ago it used to be 25-26 mpg.

The only think I could think of is that during the winter every time before i take off I wait for like 5 mins for the car to warm up till my thermometer goes to the middle (like it is normally). I am trying to preserve it and I heard its good to wait for the car to warm up. So maybe that eats gas quite a bit.

So I was wondering, could anyone tell me what/how I should try to check? If I know whats wrong, I have a buddy, great mechanic, I could just buy the part and ask him to change it for me.

THANKS, in advance!

Kurt.

·
Registered
322 Posts
Tire pressure makes a lot difference on your mpg.If the tire is full of air,you can notice when you are turning the wheel.The maximum pressure shows on your tire,for example like 35psi max.
Don't ever use AmPm gas.They are the cheapest but their gas suck.
MPG also deals with your driving style.If you need to stop and start your car often like you get into traffic jam,your mpg will drop.

Or you could ask your buddy to check your oxygen sensor to see they are working properly or not.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well my tire pressure is fine. I recently put some gas in the tires exactly what is specified on my car door.