Nissan Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this. Here's the short run-down:

My son was given an '84 nissan 4 x 4 p/u a couple of weeks ago for his 16th birthday--gift from grandpa. The truck apparently sat for over a year down in TX (location is now mid missouri). It's the 4cyl 2.4 liter, 5 speed manual--about 204K on it. I've installed new alternator, battery, water pump and fan clutch, thermostat, belts, and radiator hoses. Truck has new gas tank--but sending unit is bad. On order. Will get installed in a couple of days. A/C has been removed by previous owner.

So far, this thing hasn't gone over 72 miles on 15 gallons of gas--roughly 4-5 mpg. Told ya it was crappy.

Here's the kicker: It runs like a top. No smoke. No miss. No stall. Idles smooth with no "ramping" or revving. Like others, it's a little hard to start in this 7deg weather, but will start and run great. This is a carbuerated model--grandpa had a new carb put on before he gave it to my son (along with new clutch and tranny re-build). The fresh air intake and blow-by tube to the breather are completely gone. Could this be causing this severe an issue? This just seems to be too bad a problem for a fowled plug or dirty air filter. Seems to me like more of an air/fuel mix issue but I'm no mechanic. Idles at around 800rpm, but tach is a little quirky.

Has fresh oil change. Oil smells very slightly of fuel, but I can't be certain.

Haven't really had it on the highway to see how HP performs yet. I'm having the timing, choke, and vacuum advance checked tomorrow by a local mechanic, but I just feel like I could chase this thing from bumper to bumper and spend a lot of money without fixing anything. (Yes, the front hubs are unlocked:) O2 sensor? Catalytic converter? Any thoughts?

Any help given would be greatly appreciated!

·
Hardbody Freak
2,675 Posts
the intake and exhaust pugs should be 2 different types.
check choke operation.