Nissan Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of purchasing a 2002 SE-R Spec-V from an off lease Nissan dealer. The car is fully stocked minus ABS. “O well” The car has 30000 miles on it with minor to be expected used car problems. The car is being sold with the remainder of its 3-year factory warranty. 1st the shift boot is warn in the top left area from shifting it looks like. 2nd The center console/arm rest has a cracked hinge. 3rd the spare tire cover is missing. And 4th the biggest problem I see with the car is the transmission is difficult to shift in and out of 6th gear. As well as 3rd gear kind of bumps in and out before she gets warmed up. Many have suggested adding redline transmission fluid (the dealer also recommended it and said if that’s the only transmission problem that’s what he would do.) I believe that the shift linkage is the main problem with 6th gear, but I am not a certified mechanic. The car is currently at a Nissan dealer ship (not the one I am buying the car from) undergoing repair /diagnoses. The 1st –3rd things are being replaced. The transmission is getting the diagnoses/repair/replacement. I believe I have read somewhere, in this form that the 02-model year has a transmission recall, but I am not sure.

Any info / thoughts you guy’s/gals may have would be great.
Oh. By the way the deal I have with the dealer is to have all of the above repaired before any money changes hands.

·
Registered
303 Posts
You know, if you have to ask, you probably already have a little voice in your head telling you that it's not a good ideal. If you've read anything on this list, you would know that 02s are the worst ones.