Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everybody, I am working on an 08 350z for a good friend. I am a well seasoned mechanic, but this one seems to have me stumped. It has the security light flashing but goes off while cranking. While cranking, the tachometer does not move. I have checked for spark during cranking and it seems very weak. It has fuel, and fuel is present at the pressure regulator. Fuel is NOT present at the pressure test port. While cranking I have tried using starter fluid with no luck. I think I have listed all the things I have tried so far. I'm trying to stay away from the dealership if possible. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok so I have a couple of additions to the list of things I have tried. Today I replaced the crank position sensor and all of the cam position sensors. I am still notable to start and also noticed the tachometer isn't moving at all, even during cranking. I'm really stumped now. I'm open to any ideas. Thanks

·
Sup Mod keeping the peace
6,892 Posts
One of the first things to do is perform an ECU code readout with a portable scan tool to see if any fault codes are set. The tool can be purchased at most auto parts stores. Post the actual codes here on the forum so that we may be able to help you further. If there is one or more fault codes set, they can help point to the malfunction. If you have a copy of the FSM for your vehicle, the code readout procedure is described there along with a listing of codes. You can download a copy of the FSM from these web sites: https://ownersmanuals2.com/ or the Nico Club web site. The section EC.PDF is the one you need to read.

At this point you'll have to determine if there's an ignition or fuel delivery problem:

* Testing fuel delivery:
First check the fuel pump fuse which is 15 amp.