Nissan Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to this but not sure what else to try. I bought a used 05 altima in 2014, since I have replaced an alternator, A/Traxle seal(front pump), crankshaft seal, engine mounts, the cat was punched out at garage that worked on it, the transmission sensor was resoldered due to bad shifting. After all of that while driving and I old come to a stop the engine would die and the oil light would come on even though I had enough oil. SO I replaced the oil sending unit that didn't fix it, so then I checked the filter inside the oil pan, and in the pan I found small pieces of teeth like metal to which we have cam to conclusion may be balance shaft gear teeth, the car runs ok, does not leak anything, does produce white smoke at startup, does use a little bit of oil, number one spark plug has oil in it, does not leak or lose antifreeze, gas usage has not been as good as when I first bought, I had a compression test done from a local guy it as 90 90 90 70, but after reading I think he may have done it wrong and I can't find what the correct pressure should be on my car. I have been learning slowly so bear with me if my mechanical lingo is somewhat off. ANY way the car does have an engine noise I only notice during acceleration but isn't present when gas isn't being pressed. QUESTION is does this sound like balance shafts and gear being bad, can I cut the chain in the oil pan for now? what is a normal compression test result? the car has 174,000 I drive it, and it seems to run ok with xception of the noise I mentioned. Any input or thoughts would be appreciated. thank you all

·
Sup Mod keeping the peace
6,177 Posts