Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm a newbie here, but a second time Altima owner. My current car is a 1994 Altima 5spd and I love it. It runs great, shift smooth, it's a great car. I do however, have a few concerns...

First, my battery connection is very loose and is being held tight with a vice grips tool. Seems to do the job for now, the car does have a sluggish startup though.

Here's where I have some confusion:

- With the headlights on, the clock and radio goes dim.
- With the headlights off, the clock and radio are fine until I step on the brakes-they go dim again. If I gradually push the brake pedal, they stay brightly lit up.
- The gauge cluster works perfectly, however there is no backlight. I looked the fuse box and didn't see a fuse in the driver lights slot...Is a fuse all I need?
- The a/c and heat work great but only on high (level 4). Did a little research and it seems to be a common problem with these cars.

I guess, I'd like to know if the lighting issue is major or just a product of bad battery connection. I would like to fix these myself, without paying for a mechanic if possible. Does anyone have any advice or help for me? Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Hello all! I'm a newbie here, but a second time Altima owner. My current car is a 1994 Altima 5spd and I love it. It runs great, shift smooth, it's a great car. I do however, have a few concerns...

First, my battery connection is very loose and is being held tight with a vice grips tool. Seems to do the job for now, the car does have a sluggish startup though.

Here's where I have some confusion:

- With the headlights on, the clock and radio goes dim.
- With the headlights off, the clock and radio are fine until I step on the brakes-they go dim again. If I gradually push the brake pedal, they stay brightly lit up.