Nissan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Nissan's. I found a 1992 SE-R, with about 90,000 miles and a sunroof. Other than that, the only info I know is that the stereo is missing, due to being stolen. I am going to look at this car tomorrow. Is there anything I should keep my eye out for? Thanks in advance. Adam

·
Your electrical friend
2,177 Posts
Look for door sag, trunk leaks (comes in around the taillights, so look for any added sealants, and check the spare tire well as well as the carboard sheet over it for water stains) Check the outer CV boots (just turn the wheel full each direction and get out and look). Make sure the A/C works if it has it, make sure the fan works on all speeds as well. Listen for any exhaust leaks and for noisy lifters. Check the engine all over for any signs of leaks. If possible have someone power brake it while you look to see if the engine moves excessively in the bay, mounts might be bad. Drive it on the highway for awhile to see if it pops out of 5th gear. Check all lights operation. Check to make sure the seatbelts retract all the way. Put all this shit and anything else you or anyone else can think of, on a list, because you'll forget shit when you're there.

·
Registered
14 Posts
yeah

5th gear pop out on the tranny!se-r's well some suffer for that
the gear when on 5th tends to pop back out.I have'nt had one yet and no one really knows what cause's it. GOOD LUCK!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So basically look for the basics when looking at a used car. I really like these cars, and I hope it is in good shape. I guess I will see tomorrow.

·
Pastor of Muppets
153 Posts
5th gear popout occurs due to wear on the synchros.

If you only get a chance to drive it for a minute on the highway, do a test. Pull on the shifter in 4th and 5th gear. If it comes out of 5th easier than it does out of 4th, then 5th gear is going.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #6