Nissan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys. I haven't been on here in a while, and I have a nissan hardbody, the stipped down model. The timing chain loves to rub at mid and high rpms, and at idle when cold.

I was wondering if you guys could tell me the best procedure to tackle this? I have some mechanical experience and i definately don't want to pay a mechanic 500 dollars to do the chain, plus parts.

I will have all I need: timing gears, chain, tensioner, crank seal, and the chain guides. I figured id change the waterpump while down there as well. I know i have to drop the pan and all that. I've heard some shady stories about the chilton's manual, so I was wondering if anyone could give me a better procedure? Thanks guys.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
oil pump timing. ive never even HEARD of that. I'm new to the nissan world but never have i ever heard of "oil pump timing". please enlighten me on that. how do i ensure the correct timing of all the parts?

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i can ensure tdc on number one by the timing marks and a screw driver im guessing right?

·
Hardbody Freak
2,673 Posts
put the engine at first position b4 u tear it down..

then remove the oil pump. you will notice it has a triangle and dot on the shaft that line up.

when you are ready to reinstall the oil pump (after t-chain has been put on and the t-cover is back on)

put the oil pump in and the remove it to see how much it has moved from its 1st position..

put it back to positon and reinstall...

do this over and over untill you can put it in w/o it coming out of time...(it being oil pump)...

·
Hardbody Freak
2,673 Posts
yes but look at crank pulley as well it has a dail indicater and a line on the outer lip of the pulley. or the crank key way is straight up..

also the dizzy should be at number one spark plug tower..