Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm really a newbie - just bought our first Nissan of any kind! 1991 Sentra with 1.6 Automatic - yeah, it's lame but hey - it's ours! It's my wife's...anyway - my question: The fuel gauge is stuck on 1/2 full. Apparently fuel gauge sending unit failure is quite common for this model year with Sentra and NX's. Do I have to remove the fuel tank to replace the sending unit or is there a Chinese (Japanese?) Secret that someone can let me know about to help me out? I'd be much obliged if you did so...thanx!

"Poodles blocking the sun at night - that's why my world's devoid of light."

·
Registered
310 Posts
PoodleBrain said:
Hi, I'm really a newbie - just bought our first Nissan of any kind! 1991 Sentra with 1.6 Automatic - yeah, it's lame but hey - it's ours! It's my wife's...anyway - my question: The fuel gauge is stuck on 1/2 full. Apparently fuel gauge sending unit failure is quite common for this model year with Sentra and NX's. Do I have to remove the fuel tank to replace the sending unit or is there a Chinese (Japanese?) Secret that someone can let me know about to help me out? I'd be much obliged if you did so...thanx!

"Poodles blocking the sun at night - that's why my world's devoid of light."
I had a 1992 sentra with the same problem. There was a recall/TSB back in the day but dealers will not still honor it today...(at least in VA) I got a new unit and paid for it. Unfortunately the fuel gauge is and has been way off. ....

·
I miss good ol' OT
1,716 Posts
Sorry to hear about your issue Poodle. Check the Sentra section that is specific to your year and see if you can find some further info on where to find a cheap replacement and how easy it might be to replace on your own.

·
Registered
450 Posts