Nissan Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
1988 D21, Z24I, 2WD. Stock.
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everybody,

My Name is Noah. I'm not new to forums, or asking for help, but I am new to these "older" Nissans. I'm planning on rebuilding my GF's hardbody engine, and probably paying a local shop for transmission rebuild as I know that's out of my capabilities with winter closing in. I'm not going to be a "single poster" as I know how annoying that gets for the normal members to come help out the new guy, and then never hear back from them. I'll upload pictures, and ask questions accordingly.

So a quick run down on what's wrong with her truck:
  1. It's got white smoke coming out of the tail pipe upon start up, and idle. Currently, I don't know about under load as we haven't been driving it because of the trans leak I mention below.
  2. I believe the transmission has a leak somewhere. I know the transmission is leaking as I've had to top it up a handful of times, or the engine is consuming the ATF. Currently, I'm not sure 100%.
  3. It's got a worn Pittman arm according to the local raben tire, and some of the brake components on it are going out. The the single piston calipers up front.
I'm pretty good at all things mechanical, but I've never tackled a full engine tear down, and rebuild. This is basically the extent of my working area. As you can see, it's not "Ideal." I won't be able to pull the engine, and put it on an engine stand. I'll have to do everything in the truck as best that I can. Hence why I'm coming here to get help, guidance, and ask questions. I'm hoping this forum isn't as dead as tundrasolutions.com, of which I am also a member. All of my build threads are on Tundras.com though. I'll attach links to those down at the bottom of this post.
Tire Wheel Vehicle Plant community Automotive tire