Nissan Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi. First of all, I'm new to this forum and I'm new to Nissans. I just bought a '85 300ZX non-turbo 2+2 about 6 weeks ago and it appears to have developed some electrical issues which I'm hoping are related (possibly via a bad ground), but I don't know where to look. This is the digital dash version. When I bought the car, the ambient/set temp display was dim in the daytime but it disappears completely at night when the lights are on. The previous owner told me about this and I figured I could just ignore it. Then I noticed a lot of ignition noise in the radio and figured on going in and finding the ground or creating a new one. I don't listen to the radio and the tape deck is broken so I figure I can ignore this for a while too. This is the radio with the graphic equalizer. Now here's the real question that's bugging be. Last weekend I noticed the idle was high. The car was idling at anywhere from 1000 to 1200 rpm after it was warmed up. I adjusted it down to 700 and everything was ok until it was cold the next morning when it still ran at 700. Seems to me it should have run higher until it warmed up. Now I'm noticing that any kind of electrical load will increase the idle speed proportional to the size of the load. Turning on the headlights ups the idle to 900 rpm. The defroster is good for 1000 rpm or more.depending on if it is on defrost or demist. When this happens I can unplug the up idle solenoid and the idle will drop back down to 700 rpm. Any ideas? The idle issue is the only one I can't live with but I'm wondering if all these might be related somehow. It looks to me like some bad voltages are getting to the up idle solenoid but looks can be decieving. Please help. Thanks.

·
Registered
1 Posts