Nissan Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I have a 93 SE-R with 16 degrees timing, HS Header (5th Gen) and a JWT clutch.

3 weeks ago I went to the dragstrip in Earlville Iowa and pulled off a 15.214 @ 90.06mph. This seems a little fast for the mods I have, and I was wondering how much wind can help both ET and trap speeds.

I have run my car at the strip in Cedar Falls before with a best of 15.651 @ 87.22mph, but since that time I have done a FULL tuneup (plugs, wires, cap, rotor, timing (it was at 11 degrees), MAF reground, TB cleaning). I was just wondering how much was due to the tuneup/timing (SOTP says a LOT), and how much was wind assist (the track runs west-east and we had a crossing tailwind directly out of the NW at 6-12mph......)?

Any ideas/comments?

Also, since the timing etc, my top speed has bumped up from @127mph/6200rpm to 130-131mph/6400rpm.........so I KNOW i got some power out of it......still cant outrun my roomates Probe GT though.:D

Z

·
0 Posts
Doesn't sound that out of the ordinary for your mods. That Hotshot header alone is good for at least 2 MPH over stock, and stock you should be running in the 87-88 MPH area. It sounds like your tuneup cleared up some issues you were having, and now you're where you should be. :)

I also ran a 90 MPH trap speed in my NX2000 with a Hotshot header and intake.

I suggest the next things you get should be a CAI, a JWT ECU and JWT cams. You don't have to get them all at once, but they will ALL add a good amount of HP. ~8 wheel HP for the CAI, ~10 wheel HP for the ECU, and depending on which cams you get, probably over 10 wheel HP for those too. Possibly more. With those 3 mods you can probably net a solid 20 wheel HP over what you have now, especially considering that your car seems to be in excellent running condition right now.

S

·
0 Posts