1990 240SX - Need your help and opinion! - Nissan Forum
S13 240SX 1989-1994 Including Silvia

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old Mar 17th, 2005, 08:01 AM
NissanForums Newbie

1990 240SX - Need your help and opinion!

I'm in the market for a cheap, reliable & somewhat fuel efficient car. I'm a university student so I don't have a lot of cash to spend on a car.

There's a guy selling his 1990 240SX for $1800 ($CDN). It's got a little bit of rust on the body, which will definatly need work.

Plus, since this is a 1990, its got a open diff and sohc engine. I can live with the SOHC (btw, how much HP and torque does the SOHC have?), but I'll eventually have to get a limited slip or viscous diff because winter driving will be a biatch without it. Plus, I think I'll have to replace the entire hatch, not just patch it up (because of the rust).

I need your help and opinion on whether this a good deal, will the replacement parts be cheap, will the car be reliable, and overall is it worth it? If this isn't really worth it, I'll probably get a late 90's civic or corolla a little later on (which will be $5000+).

This is what he states about the cars condition:

1990 240sx fastback 5spd, 217xxx km, original dark blue paint, no power options, sunroof had this car less then half a year and invested 1000ish into fixing it up. new clutch, rebuilt alternator, new fuel pump, new lower ball joints, new battery, new back tires, some after market muffler. thats all i can think of right now. car runs with no problem and i am currently driving it on the road right now. i have etest paper thats can be used still.

rust issue underbody 4/5(last i checked) exterior 3/5- driver side rear fender needs some attention and hatch has holes needs to be replaced. those 2 are the only major spots and a few lite rust spots nothing major.
underbody is pretty decent rockers decent no holes, strut tower some surface rust.i will try and get pics of the frame/underbody when i get a chance.