01 sentra bog won't go over 20mph - Nissan Forum
B15 2000-2006 2000+ Sentra including 2002+ SE-R and SpecV

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old Sep 24th, 2011, 07:30 AM
NissanForums Newbie

01 sentra bog won't go over 20mph

I have been messing with it for 2 months now and would appreciate some help. Replaced TPS with two new ones, New fuel pump, catalytic converter, drained fuel and put new fuel in. It starts fine, just boggs and won't go over 20 mph. This all started one day with one of the coil packs went bad on #3 plug and I replace it and now all cylinders fire but it boggs. Help please!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old Sep 24th, 2011, 08:15 AM
NF Mod

Well, first of all, you shouldn't replace parts without confirming they are bad. Second, just because parts are "new," doesn't necessarily means that they are good, which ties into my first point. A possible catalytic converter/exhaust restriction issue can be easily tested by using an exhaust backpressure tester, which screws into the upstream O2 sensor (or, air/fuel sensor) hole. A suspected bad fuel pump or delivery issue should be tested with a fuel pressure gauge. Are there any stored trouble codes in the ECM? At some point, it will be necessary to view the ECM datastream and a compatable generic scantool or Nissan Consult II or III will be needed to do such. Without the equipment to do such tests, you are essentially working blind and you could spend a small fortune on replacing otherwise good parts. If you don't have the equipment, I would suggest you have a competant auto technician with the proper test equipment and tools diagnose the problem. BTW, is this a 1.8L? If so, you may want to check for a failed head gasket, as well. It's not an uncommon issue on these engines and they can cause cylinder misfire codes, which many initially mistake for bad ignition coil(s).

Last edited by smj999smj; Sep 24th, 2011 at 08:19 AM.
#3 Old Sep 25th, 2011, 07:02 PM
NissanForums Newbie

Quote: